During the 2000 Annual PAASE Meeting held at the Manila Shangri-La Hotel in the Philippines, Dr. Severino Koh, a co-founder of PAASE, initiated the Founders’ Lectureship Awards in Science and Engineering. The purpose of the award is to recognize the outstanding scientific and technological accomplishments of PAASE members. A committee selects the recipient of the award from nominations submitted by PAASE members. The awardee delivers a lecture at the PAASE annual meeting and is presented a plaque of recognition and a check of $1000. Dr. Koh and his wife, Paz, donated the seed money for this program. Since year 2000, we have selected Founders’ Lecturers who are honored at each annual meeting. Shortly after Dr. Koh’s death in April 2004, the PAASE members unanimously agreed to rename the awards as the Severino and Paz Koh Lectureship Awards in Science and Engineering to honor the Kohs' long-time dedication and support of PAASE.

Founders' Lectureship Awardees

2000                Science                      Baldomero M. Olivera

                        Engineering              Alfredo H. Ang

2001                 Science                       Florante A. Quiocho

                        Engineering              Jose B. Cruz, Jr.

2002                Science                      Josefino C. Comiso

                        Engineering              Oscar H. Ibarra

2003                Science                      Mariano A. Estoque

Severino and Paz Koh Lectureship Awardees

2004               Science                      Eusebio L. Koh

2005               Science                      Pedro A. Jose

2006               Science                      Alfonso M. Albano

2007               Science                      Benito O. De Lumen

2008               Science                      Eduardo A. Padlan

                       Engineering              Romel D. Gomez

2009               Science                      Gisela P. Concepcion

                       Engineering              Leonardo Q. Liongson

2010                Science                      Rigoberto C. Advincula

                       Engineering              Danilo B. Romero

2011                 Science                      Carlito B. Lebrilla

                       Engineering              Felixberto A. Buot

2013                Engineering              Francis de los Reyes III

2014                Science                      Michael Purugganan

2015                Science                      Ernesto M. Pernia

                       Engineering              Gonzalo C. Serafica

2016                Science                      Ma. Corazon De Ungria

                       Engineering              Joel Cuello

2017                Science                      Sevilla Detera-Wadleigh

                       Engineering               Raymond R. Tan
2018                Science                      Francisco Sy
                       Engineering              Alvin Culaba