During the 2000 Annual PAASE Meeting held at the Manila Shangri-La Hotel in the Philippines, Dr. Severino Koh, a co-founder of PAASE, initiated the Founders’ Lectureship Awards in Science and Engineering. The purpose of the award is to recognize the outstanding scientific and technological accomplishments of PAASE members. A committee selects the recipient of the award from nominations submitted by PAASE members. The awardee delivers a lecture at the PAASE annual meeting and is presented a plaque of recognition and a check of $1000. Dr. Koh and his wife, Paz, donated the seed money for this program. Since year 2000, we have selected Founders’ Lecturers who are honored at each annual meeting. Shortly after Dr. Koh’s death in April 2004, the PAASE members unanimously agreed to rename the awards as the Severino and Paz Koh Lectureship Awards in Science and Engineering to honor the Kohs' long-time dedication and support of PAASE.

Founders' Lectureship Awardees

2000       Science                 Baldomero M. Olivera

              Engineering          Alfredo H. Ang

2001       Science                  Florante A. Quiocho

              Engineering           Jose B. Cruz, Jr.

2002       Science                 Josefino C. Comiso

              Engineering           Oscar H. Ibarra

2003       Science                 Mariano A. Estoque

Severino and Paz Koh Lectureship Awardees

2004       Science                 Eusebio L. Koh

2005       Science                 Pedro A. Jose

2006       Science                 Alfonso M. Albano

2007       Science                 Benito O. De Lumen

2008       Science                 Eduardo A. Padlan

              Engineering           Romel D. Gomez

2009       Science                 Gisela P. Concepcion

              Engineering           Leonardo Q. Liongson

2010       Science Rigoberto C. Advincula

              Engineering           Danilo B. Romero

2011       Science                 Carlito B. Lebrilla

              Engineering           Felixberto A. Buot

2013       Engineering           Francis de los Reyes III

2014 Science Michael Purugganan

2015 Science Ernesto M. Pernia

Engineering Gonzalo C. Serafica

2016 Science Ma. Corazon De Ungria

Engineering Joel Cuello

2017 Science Sevilla Detera-Wadleigh

Engineering Raymond R. Tan